Hi Everyone, I have a question regarding integrati...
# help
w
Hi Everyone, I have a question regarding integration of lakeFS with dashboarding tools like Power BI or Tableau, my background is more on Azure side, how best we can integrate data in lakeFS with dashboarding tools?
e
lakeFS should be connected to your Azure blob or gen 2 storage. Your visualisation tool will work over lakeFS that provides an S3 interface. So lakeFS is compatible with your Azure storage and externalities an S3 interface to the tools you use to access the data. Visualisation tools is one example. Azure databricks is another example. You can configure the visualisation tool to use the lakeFS storage API using the gateway.
a
Hi @Waqas Zubairy, That's a big question! My goto method would be to start by configuring the dashboard to read from lakeFS using the S3 gateway.
i
@Ariel Shaqed (Scolnicov) has there been considering creating an Azure gateway api as well?
a
Hi @Ion, I'm not aware of any such plans. I imagine one way to make a compelling case for such a feature might be to show apps that have an Azure interface but no S3 interface, whose users could benefit from versioning.
i
@Ariel Shaqed (Scolnicov) I would say the main reason is Azure can place locks on files, while S3 can't. Currently using LakeFS in Azure means you have to use the S3 gateway api, however all the locking clients implementations out there like dynamodb are AWS only. So you end up with a worser solution than native ADLS, and you lose rhe ability to have concurrent writers
a