Hi All I am new to lakefs, enjoying it so far. I a...
# help
n
Hi All I am new to lakefs, enjoying it so far. I am evaluating it out on DL dataset that will grow overtime in s3(~200TB). I created the repo on lakefs with s3 as storage backend. If the underlying data changes, how does lakefs deal with it, The reason is we plan to add data to s3 directly from a pipeline process. The pipeline may delete data or change contents of files or add new files from time to time. whats the best way to deal with my use case in lakefs? I see using rclone to sync lakefs repo and s3 bucket in documentation, if thats the preferred way, does it scale for ~1Billion objects every time theres a change? Thanks in Advance!!
l
Hi @Narendra Nath and welcome! With lakeFS the best practice is to have lakeFS as part of your pipeline, and not make changes directly to your bucket. Can you please tell me more about your use case and your pipeline?
n
Hi Lynn we upload data to s3 from external systems(on prem computers/external annotation systems like scale/ sagemaker ground truth..etc.). The pipeline does some data quality checks before the upload process from on prem systems (I can potentially use lakefs to upload here).But the annotation systems upload data directly to s3 we do not control the upload.
i
Hey @Narendra Nath, one option would be to import the data to lakeFS. It doesn’t copy the data into lakeFS, it just point to it. So it scales much better than having to copy everything.
Since the data isn’t managed by lakeFS, lakeFS won’t delete it. If a user is trying to retrieve an object that was deleted from it’s origin, she’ll receive a
409 Gone
response. If the object was changed in the origin, it will cause failures during read time since lakeFS metadata contains different content-length. The best practice is to re-import (cheap) when the origin data was changed.
Newly added files to the origin will only be available after an import, e.g. imports to lakeFS are not continuous.
o